Getting close

Photography

Not that I am really bored, but I was looking forward to this little experiment for a while now. Trying something new. With new lenses and new objects. I wanted to have the glas for at least a year and now I have it. My very own very first Macro lense. And oh boy, it is as difficult as it is thrilling.

You can get close

Young Sunflowers

really close

A Young Sunflower

really very close, indeed.

A young sunflower in detail

I love it!
Here’s a question to you. Any advice you can give me?

16 thoughts on “Getting close

  1. I like the 3rd the best because the subject / the focus is easy to spot. If that makes sense. Just keep shooting, mimic what you like.

  2. Some of the best advice I’ve received about macro photography is with regards to breathing – since you are often working within such a short depth of field, nailing the focus right where you want it can be very tricky. Back in the days of film, the tiniest movement while pressing the shutter release button was often the culprit when a handheld macro image came back out of focus.

    I was taught to press the shutter release on a steady exhale; compose your image, get in as close as you expect to be, then take a deep breath and as you exhale, release the shutter. You may find that you have a tendency to “lean” forward a bit with the exhale too, and with practice you can use this to your advantage.

    Above all, best advice is to keep having fun and explore those details around you!

    APK Photography Macro examples: http://goo.gl/umq0ay

    1. This is phantastic advice, thank you so much!

      I have experienced similar feelings while doing long-time-exposure shots at night. Even pressing the shutter on a tripod can ruin the picture because the whole set is moving just a tiny little bit.
      You are right, though, it is even more difficult to stay in focus, because it is not only the blur because of the movement while shooting, but also the object being completely out of focus due to the narrow depth of field. Your advice is great help, also while doing ‘ordinary’ shots, i.e. trying to follow and shoot while looking through a tele-lense.

      I was doing my little experiments with a tripod and in tethering mode with lightroom but will definately keep your hint in mind. Thank you also for the link! This is great inspiration πŸ™‚

      All the best!

  3. Macro photography is my passion. I almost always shoot on a tripod, use a cable release and shoot in the mirror-up mode. When shooting handheld, I try to sturdy myself to avoid blurred images. It can be very frustrating, but so rewarding!

  4. My mother took a lot of macro shots of plants, flowers, and butterflies back in the old film days. She would usually post herself in a position that provided no movement with the camera or used a tripod (sometimes that is difficult when you are trying to capture a butterfly before it flies off!).

    If you are in nature, I would suggest bringing along a tripod and setting up shop. I always enjoyed just taking long days and waiting to see what would happen around me.

    Find the best way to stabilize your camera without a tripod. My rule of thumb is always “If you don’t look ridiculous while taking photos, you may not be taking good photos!” hehe

    Those shots all look great! I hope I can get some actual camera gear soon. Shooting with my 8MP camera phone is kind of depressing at times but better than not taking any pictures I suppose πŸ™‚

  5. Nice shots. And they are exciting lenses to use! Keep your ‘photo head’ on when using them and remember the composition is probably more important with macro since the focus and aperture are very unforgiving.

  6. If you don’t want to deal with a tripod, consider a monopod–good stability and a bit quicker to set up. I found out the hard way that I couldn’t usually get sharp enough macro photos without at least propping the camera on something sturdy. Good luck & have fun (ps, these are lovely even without our advice!) πŸ™‚

  7. Hi, Thanks for liking one of my posts, that drew me here. I am new to blogging and I am loving seeing the world through other peoples eyes and reading blogs like this. (it is just very time consuming but good) Re macro: I am not a photographer, I am a naturalist and I only take pictures to help me to identify things but as soon as I started doing that I began to see detail and beauty that I never knew existed. Cameras are just so much better than our own eyes.Your Macro pictures are very good and just the first step to discovering a hidden world. I hope that you have success and continue in this field. There is so much hidden beauty to discover. Good luck my friend. Colin

Leave a Reply

